H is for Heroes

I was originally going to write about how honored (H for honored) I was to receive a blog award even though I have only been blogging for a week. I want to do the award justice though and find some quality blogs I want to pass it on to, so I am going to save writing about it for a bit later this week. I just need to spend some more time reading more blogs, I guess! Though that is never a bad thing 🙂

Anyway, sometimes on my way to work in the morning when I am listening to music, I find myself skipping more and more of my songs that come up on shuffle on my phone. It is frustrating because they are all songs I like, ones that are on my phone for a reason. My music restlessness, however, leads me on these wild rampages where I try to find new music that speaks to me. This week I went on one of those rampages and actually found something I loved.

The song (Kill your Heroes by Awolnation) states that you should “kill your heroes and fly.” At first I found this to be confusing. Wouldn’t I want my heroes around to inspire me, and umm, save me with all of their heroism? After listening to it on repeat for well over an hour (I think it is super catchy so I just couldn’t help myself), the message of the song clicked. You are supposed to be your own hero! You are metaphorically supposed to kill your heroes because you don’t need them, you can fly all on your own. I was blown away by the simplicity and awesomeness of the whole thing, so I decided to dedicate the letter “H” to it.

While I don’t have any heroes exactly, I do have role models and people who I aspire to be like (I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, but if I somehow became Tina Fey, that would be more than okay). Since I am currently doing some soul searching, this song couldn’t have come into my life at a better time. While I still haven’t worked out all of the lyrics, the one about killing your heroes was more than enough for me for now. I hope that even if you don’t find the song as catchy or as satisfying to your ears as I do, that you still take the inspiration from it that I have.

 

J

2 thoughts on “H is for Heroes

Leave a Reply

