F is for Favorite Things

F is a pretty tricky letter. When I thought to myself “F is for…,” a not so nice word popped into my head. Though I have a lot of comments about that word (I love that it is so versatile it can basically be any part of speech–verb, noun, adjective, anything!) I decided there probably should censor myself and pick a different topic. So I thought of things that make me happy and that led me to think about all of my favorite things.

Sadly I am not Oprah, so when I talk about all of my favorite things those of you who are reading this will not be receiving them as gifts (If you have never seen an episode of Oprah’s favorite things I highly recommend it. I don’t know why but there is something fun about watching that women give free things away). I just want to get that out there in the open so none of you are disappointed when you look under your chair and there is no fabulous present waiting for you. Anyway, here is a list of some of my favorites!

-Color: Purple. I used to be obsessed and everything I owned was purple. That made me hate it for about ten years. I am back to loving it.

-Food: Chocolate. Specifically dark chocolate. Hot gooey dark chocolate fudge brownies with chocolate chunks are unbelievable. Notice I didn’t list this as my favorite dessert, it is my favorite food.

-Drink: Water. I don’t like carbonation (you would literally have to pay me to get me to drink a can of soda) and the smell of coffee is so off-putting to me that I don’t think I have ever even been able to try a sip. I truly love water. I am rarely spotted without my Brita water bottle (another one of my favorite things) and I am probably one of the few people out there who actually drinks the recommended 8 glasses a day. Yes it is a healthy habit, but if you are considering drinking more water, beware that people will think you are strange when you have to go to the bathroom every hour.

-Website: Buzzfeed. This is a new obsession. I really like lists and most of the articles are in list format, so that’s cool. Also it is hilarious. Getting the Buzzfeed app on my phone was probably the biggest mistake I made all year though.

-Game: Cards Against Humanity and Sudoku. Cards Against Humanity is my favorite multi-player game. For those of you who don’t know, it is sort of like Apples to Apples but all grown up (it is quite inappropriate). Every time I play I laugh so hard I think I am going to pee in my pants. Sudoku is my favorite solo player game. I especially love playing it on my phone so I can keep track of things like my fastest time. I am really competitive, especially against myself, and Sudoku is great for facilitating my inner competition.

-Music: Fake Rap. I don’t know what else to call it, but I like it when rap music has a super catchy beat to it. I also love 80s pop music. Sometimes I think I was born in the wrong decade because I love 80s music so much, but then I snap out of it.

-Hobby: Television. I am an avid television watcher. People don’t usually consider this a hobby, but I can assure you I devote more time to keeping up with it than my friends do with their hobbies. A long time ago I stopped being embarrassed about it and realized that I don’t judge others for their hobbies so they shouldn’t judge me for mine. Yes I keep up with about 20 shows at any given time (it is sadly less during the summer), but I learn a lot and get to experience so many worlds that are different from my own.

-Miscellaneous favorite things: Fuzzy blankets, argyle socks, the Olympics, being nocturnal, jokes, that clean feeling right after you brush your teeth, travel (except for airplanes), being a bad dancer, my computer, sleeping, and chocolate (yes I felt the need to list it again).

What is your absolute favorite thing?

 

J

4 thoughts on “F is for Favorite Things

  1. Mountains, a great book, a cup of tea or a rainy day, travel, cold room and warm blankets, cycling, Carmel Apple Spice from Starbucks, love, especially God’s.

Leave a Reply

